World of Warcraft: Regular Flying in Dragonflight Just Got Easier to Unlock in Patch 10.2


  • World of Warcraft has removed the Freshscales Fifteen achievement as a requirement for unlocking regular flying in the Dragonflight zones, making it easier for players to obtain.
  • The remaining achievements needed for Dragon Isles Pathfinder can be earned currently, except for Explore the Emerald Dream, which will be obtainable on November 7.
  • The loosened requirements for flying in the Dragon Isles are seen as a positive move for World of Warcraft players, providing accessibility for those who struggle with dynamic flying and motion sickness.

World of Warcraft just removed the hardest requirement from the Pathfinder achievement that will unlock regular flying on the Dragon Isles. With this change, World of Warcraft players will be able to unlock flying for the Dragonflight zones within minutes of logging in after Patch 10.2 drops.

Previously, World of Warcraft confirmed normal flying would be coming to the Dragon Isles. Like previous expansions, this feature would be locked behind a Pathfinder achievement, though the requirements for it were not nearly as hard to earn as some in World of Warcraft‘s history.

RELATED: World of Warcraft Players Can Get New Dragonriding Armor, But Not For Long

However, it seems World of Warcraft has decided to make regular flying even easier to unlock for the Dragon Isles zones. In an official post on the World of Warcraft Forum, community manager Kaivax explained that, after some deliberation, Blizzard decided to remove the Freshscales Fifteen achievement from the requirements for Dragon Isles Pathfinder. This achievement required players to reach Renown level fifteen with the four original factions of Dragonflight, plus the Loamm Niffen and Dream Wardens from Patch 10.1 and 10.2, but is no longer needed to unlock flying.

Read More:   Game Developers Respond to Insomniac Hack

wow dragonflight dragon isles normal flying

Here are the achievements players must earn to unlock normal flying in World of Warcraft: Dragonflight:

  • Waking Hope: Complete the Waking Shores storyline.
  • Ohn’a’roll: Complete the Ohn’ahran Plains storyline.
  • Azure Spanner: Complete the Azure Span storyline.
  • Just Don’t Ask Me to Spell It – Complete the Thaldraszus storyline.
  • Embers of Neltharion: Complete the Forbidden Reach and Zaralek Cavern storylines from Patch 10.1.
  • Dragon Isles Explorer: Explore the Waking Shores, Ohn’ahran Plains, Azure Span, and Thaldraszus.
  • Explore Zaralek Cavern: Explore Zaralek Cavern from Dragonflight Patch 10.1.
  • Explore the Emerald Dream: Explore the Emerald Dream from Dragonflight Patch 10.2.

Now that Freshscales Fifteen has been removed, all but one of the achievements required for Dragon Isles Pathfinder can be earned in World of Warcraft right now. Explore the Emerald Dream won’t be obtainable until November 7, when Guardians of the Dream comes to World of Warcraft. That said, players will head to the Emerald Dream shortly after beginning the story quests, after which they can quickly fly around the zone, unlocking Dragon Isles Pathfinder in a matter of minutes.

The loosened requirements for regular flying in the Dragon Isles are a huge win for many World of Warcraft fans. While most players will still default to Dragonriding, as it is faster and more engaging, regular flying is a fantastic accessibility tool for players who struggle with dynamic flying due to motion sickness or other hardships. Nearly every player agreed that removing the grind from Dragon Isles Pathfinder is a big step in the right direction for flying in World of Warcraft.

WoW Dragonflight

World of Warcraft: Dragonflight

World of Warcraft: Dragonflight was developed by Blizzard Entertainment and is the ninth expansion pack for the iconic massively multiplayer online role-playing game World of Warcraft.

Read More:   Red Dead Redemption 2 Fan Makes Interesting Discovery While Cleaning Out the House They Grew Up In

Dragonflight features an overhauled user interface, raises the level cap to 70, and introduces a new race and class. 

Franchise Warcraft Platform(s) PC Released November 28, 2022 Developer(s) Blizzard, Activision Publisher(s) Blizzard, Activision Genre(s) MMORPG See at Official Site

About The Author

Scroll to Top